Aged Care Quality Standards

About the Aged Care Quality Standards

Organisations providing Commonwealth subsidised aged care services are required to comply with the Aged Care Quality Standards (Quality Standards). Organisations will be assessed and must be able to provide evidence of their compliance with and performance against the Quality Standards from 1 July 2019.

The Quality Standards focus on outcomes for consumers and reflect the level of care and services the community can expect from organisations that provide Commonwealth subsidised aged care services.

The Quality Standards are made up of eight individual standards:

              1. Consumer dignity and choice
              2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
              3. Personal care and clinical care
              4. Services and supports for daily living
              5. Organisation’s service environment
              6. Feedback and complaints
              7. Human resources
              8. Organisational governance

Each of the Quality Standards is expressed in three ways:

            • a statement of outcome for the consumer
            • a statement of expectation for the organisation
            • organisational requirements to demonstrate that the standard has been met

Compliance with the Quality Standards is mandatory from the date of commencement. Organisations are required to demonstrate performance on an ongoing basis to meet Australian Government requirements. The Australian Government may take action when providers do not comply. This includes under aged care legislation or through the funding agreement with the organisation.

The Standards provide a framework of core requirements for quality and safety. Some Standards will apply differently to organisations, depending on the types of care and services they provide. Many organisations will go beyond these core requirements to provide a higher quality of care and services for consumers.